Have you ever noticed that fear changes nothing? Nothing at all? Who of us has ever had an outcome changed by being fearful?

No one I know.

In fact, situations are often made worse by fear. Paralyzed, demonized, hopeless. That is how fear leaves us and those we love.

We even fear things that have yet to happen. We are seeking out a professional in regards to some of our family struggles, and I was remarking to my husband how I am afraid of what the doctor might find. What he might turn up…what diagnoses he may offer. I am wary of the unknown.

My husband, in great patience and love, remarked gently to me that knowing the facts will not change the diagnosis. Whatever it is, it already is. Someone naming it will not change that. If anything, it will only help us.

He is right. So why am I afraid? Because we all fear what we don't know; what we don't yet understand. But the fear does not change what is. It never will. All it does is rob us of hope, and cripple us in coping with the unknown.

And honestly for me, it highlights my lack of trust. My Creator has been with me every step of the way. He has not failed me yet…so why would He now? Have I really hit a problem that is too big for Him? Is He sitting there, stumped?

No. He is not. He is right here, waiting. As He often is. Waiting for me to release the fear, and grab His hand.